Liebster Award Nomination – 2020

Let me express my deepest appreciation to  agirlwhowrites for nominating me. She is one of those travelers with this ability to take subjects otherwise difficult and break them down to their simplest form, all the while taking you on journeys into her experiences. She is an amazing writer and you should definitely check out her site.

This nomination comes at a  good strange time for me. I have not been in a good headspace for a while now. There’s a bio that was on my Instagram, it no longer holds true. Perhaps this will help me…

Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  2. Answer the 11 questions given to you
  3. Nominate 11 bloggers
  4. Ask your nominees 11 questions
  5. Notify your nominees once you have uploaded your post

Here are the answers to the questions I was asked:

If you could describe your view of life in just one color – which color would that be, and why?

This is life we’re talking about right? It could never be one color. Life is all  the colors and none of them – all at the same time. Because life is never just one thing – it is a spectrum. It is a rainbow +. I believe I wrote a post about life and rainbows somewhere on here.

Imagine that you keep a journal, and one day it suddenly began to think for itself. What would it have to say about you?

It being my journal, it wouldn’t talk about me, it would talk to me. It would probably say, “Dante, you need to stop. I see you’re dying a little each day. It’s not all up to you. It’s alright to break down. You don’t always have to keep it together. Cry if you need to.”

You have a job – to christen a recently discovered star. What would you name it, and what does that name mean to you?

I’d name it after my dad – Takawira. That way when I looked up, it would be like he’s watching over me.

If you could go back in time (any point in the past) and experience the locale of your choice for exactly an hour, what would you choose to explore?

Right now, with the way I’m feeling, I’d really want an hour with my dad – that’s all I ask for.

If you could be an exception to a rule, which rule would that be?

Thing is, I’m already an exception to a lot of rules – that is why a friend dubbed me The Mad Blogger. I have this strong aversion to what everyone is doing or is supposed to do. I prefer to make my own path, chart my own destination.

What does freedom mean to you?

Being able to go through life existence knowing that I am able to accomplish what I set my mind to without anything – political or otherwise – stopping me from doing so. To not be automatically judged by where I come. To be able to breathe. To be happy – truly happy.

I haven’t felt that in a log time. I can’t breathe, I am not free.

You can grant one boon to your childhood self. Would you trust their choice or decide for yourself what to give them? And what would that be?

Definitely. The younger me was much more sure of things than I am now. They would know best. I am not sure what they would choose, but I trust that choice.

How did you choose the name of your blog?

Let me take you back to March of 2017… After explaining what my blog would be about, I  asked my sister for possible names for it. From her suggestions came both the name Dialectics and the tagline: Welcome to Dante’s Perspective. These are My Words; My World… I chose Dialectics because most of the time on here I’m talking to myself – if you decide to join in that’s awesome. Dante’s Perspective would have been a really good one as well. Thank you sis!

What is the one big question regarding this world that puzzles you the most?

The world used to be an amazing place, what happened? Do humans really not care about where they live and who they share it with? Have they become so self centered that they are only concerned if something directly affects them? Have they really become that disconnected from each other?

Give a word (preferably in your regional language) that truly speaks to you, and if there’s a story to it, do tell!

It would be Mhondoro. From what I remember my grandad telling me, that translates to ancestor. Looking back into the history of my country, a belief system directly tied to our culture has always existed. One that gave thanks to mhondoro – ancestors. And in turn mhondoro would grant good fortune to those who did so. When my country was free – truly free, mhondoro were the most important thing – not status, not wealth, not politics – mhondoro. Even the kings of then held a great level of respect and reverence for them.

Mhondoro resonates with me because in my country – my continent for that matter – the people have adopted a religious system that was never their own. A system that was in essence, used to colonise them. Forgotten what made them a people – their ubuntu – in favour of foreign concepts and ways of living.

Is there a technology, principle or belief that you think can change the world for the better without any side effects? If the answer is no, do you think humanity – at any point in time – will be capable of designing such a system?

One of the main teachings/principles in kami-no-michi (Shintō) emphasizes makoto no kokoro (“heart of truth”), or magokoro (“true heart”), which is usually translated as “sincerity”. If humans were sincere in what they did and said that would – in my opinion – change the world for the better. Because to the Japanese, Shintō is not a religion, but more  a way of life. To live in harmony with nature all that surrounds us, being grateful for every moment – with sincerity and respect.


I nominate:

My questions for the nominees:

  1. Do you feel safe?
  2. What is the one thing you want at this moment?
  3. What are you reading right now? (besides this post of course)
  4. What’s playing in your headphones?
  5. How are you – mentally?
  6. May you teach me something from/about your country/culture?
  7. Is there anything about the world you would like to see change?
  8. I’ve visited your city, what are you showing me?
  9. Given the option to move to anywhere, would you? Why would or wouldn’t you?
  10. Are you still in touch with your inner child? If so, do you mind telling me about them?
  11. Did you smile today? What made you smile if you did?

And as there are no rules against it, agirlwhowrites I renominate you 😁


Dante

14 thoughts on “Liebster Award Nomination – 2020

  1. Firstly, I’m sorry about the bad times. I hope you feel better soon, it does get better with time. This has been – I think – one of the most revelatory posts about you that I’ve read and I’m glad to know you better.
    I loved it, especially the word. I’m going to put in questions like that whenever I do a nomination so I get to know so many things! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s alright, thank you. Your questions gave me a chance to actually use my blog for the reason I created it a bit.

      That’s going to be sonner than you think 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow that’s an honor! I’m glad, and I’m looking forward to it.
        Oh also. 😂 Can I just write tiny posts for each? They’re all really thought provoking. I have a monthly goal to post so much, so I could really use the prompts!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been, no I’m going through things.

    The younger me will always know better.

    The name could have been a shona one as if we had found a word that fit.

    You are most welcome. May this be a first of many

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am just happy to hear from you 😃

    That part about giving advice to your younger self — I relate on a 100! I refer back to my heart’s dreams when I was “innocent” quite often …

    Ohh I’ve always been curious about your blog name, don’t know why I never asked. Shout out to your sis, she’s a genius!

    Thank you for the nomination 😁 my first Liebster… I’m chuffed!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mhondoro dzinomwa muna Save !!!! I never quite knew what that meant but I loved it…

    Great responses that star thing is deep.

    I was hoping I would not see my name and just when I was about to thank my lucky stars….

    ~B

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh the momories of that. I need to look for that song.

      Hahaha, I added you at the last moment 😂 I was gonna nominate 10 then I in you came with a notification.

      You have not been giving enough thanks to your mhondoro 🤣

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.