Rock Music Is Not Noise

I am a fan of music. I always listen to a song at least once before I come to a verdict on it, But there are some people, I have found are quick to judge a song just because of their assumption on its genre.


I listen to almost every genre off music. This is because music has been and always is my friend when the world fails me.  Whether I’m happy, angry, sad, frustrated or disappointed. Whatever mood I am in, I can always find a song to match my mood.

Sadly, this is not the case for everyone.There are people so dedicated t o one genre, they consider every other irrelevant. The genres I have seen get most of this treatment are Rock and Metal music.

Over the years I have heard people call Rock and Metal ‘evil‘, ‘devil music‘, but the one that irritates me the most is when they call rock ‘noise‘. The one thing I’ve seen is that anyone who says this has never given Rock a chance,


With me the thing that makes me like a song is the lyrics, more than anything else. It is for this reason, if you were to go through my playlist, you would find  a wide variety of music. With me, if the lyrics have some meaning behind them, I will usually like that song.With most people I’ve met, it’s the beat. They rarely ever care about the lyrics, as long it has a nice beat they like it.

Most people are so intimidated by the drums and guitar of Rock music, that they automatically label it noise. They refuse to take the time to listen to the lyrics, to listen to the message hidden behind the instruments.

RnB and Soul are the genres that attract most people because of the gentle melodies these genres have. Then others are drawn by Hip-Hop, those that like having fun all the time by House and Club music. I always go back to Rock and Metal. These two genres literally changed my life, showed me the light.

I really don’t understand why most people are discouraged by Rock music. I have found more meaning, more passion, more truth in the lyrics of Rock music than any other genre. In Rock, I found my brothers, my sisters, my family. People who have been through good experiences and bad, who have felt love and lost it, who have seen the highest point in their lives and the lowest; and their music is fuelled by these experiences.

Whenever I listen to any Rock song, I can feel the joy and the sorrow. I can feel the pain and the misery. I can feel  the love and the ecstasy. I get taken on journeys to faraway places, to places only known to my imagination. I have found a home, a place I feel safe. A place I feel protected.

I ask YOU to give Rock a chance, to pay attention to the lyrics. Please listen to this song, maybe you will understand exactly what I mean:

As the old saying goes: “Don’t judge a book by its cover“, I say “Don’t judge a song by its beat

Rock Music Is Not Noise

Dante 

About Dante

I love music , reading , writing, gaming and so much more... I have a lot of thoughts, a bunch of ideas, a myriad of experiences that I want to share with you... Say hie and let's be friends :D
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

